telling minor stories to avoid a major one

Download: Wale – More About Nothing mixtape by Barbecue Bros
September 8, 2010, 6:29 pm
Filed under: Download | Tags: , , ,

Perfect for those of you who prefer good hip hop with “Seinfeld” sound clips interspersed throughout. Solid listen.


Linkdown: 4/24/09 mp3 edition by Barbecue Bros
April 24, 2009, 1:13 pm
Filed under: linkdown | Tags: , ,

– Yet another Kings of Leon track: a RAC remix of “Use Somebody”

– Yet another Kid Cudi mix tape, this time with DJ E-V, Dat Kid from Cleveland

– A new Sufjan Stevens song about Sofia Coppola, “Sofia’s Song” (via Pitchfork)

– Rostam from Vampire Weekend and Wes from Ra Ra Riot are Discovery, and a few old tracks of theirs were posted on Stereogum recently

A new track from The Field, “The More That I Do”

– Holy awesome, the track of the week, Grizzly Bear‘s “Two Weeks” mashed up with Dead Prez‘s “Hip Hop”; another great mashup from The Hood Internet (via Gorilla Vs. Bear)

Top 5: 4/3/09 by Barbecue Bros
April 3, 2009, 4:48 pm
Filed under: top 5 | Tags: , , , , , , ,

A late Friday afternoon top 5…

1. Friday Night Lights Renewed for 2 more seasons (link) – Thats right, not one but two (!!) more 13-episode seasons of FNL will be coming, albeit under the same DirecTV-then-NBC model as this year. Lyla and Tyra will get a sendoff prob next season a la Street and Smash this year, but the big sticker is whether or not either showrunner Jason Katims or go-to director Jeffrey Reiner (hopefully both) will return to the show, as they have other projects of their own going on right now. In any case, it’s a great thing for network tv that this show has been renewed.

2. 1001 Rules for My Unborn Son (link) – A pretty cool tumblr site where the rules could really apply to any human being, not just the writer’s unborn son.

3. 1000 Times Yes (link) – You can follow this twitter where 1000 albums will be reviewed by Chris Weingarten in 140 characters or less. He’s already up to 208.

4. Max Payne 3 this winter (link) – Pretty awesome news that came out of nowhere early last week, but Rockstar Vancouver is working on the game which will be released later this year on Xbox 360, PS3 and PC.

5. Presents: The’09 Mix Tape (link via Pitchfork Forkcast) – I haven’t actually listened to it, but free music is always nice and Kid Cudi was behind the great track “Day ‘N’ Nite” which I put a remix of on my latest mix.