telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Read this: Vanish by Barbecue Bros
February 24, 2010, 1:43 pm
Filed under: Read This | Tags: ,

It’s from the December issue of Wired, but it is a highly recommended, albeit fairly long read about a writer attempting to shed his identity for a month while Wired sponsors a contest to find him and win $5000.

August 13, 6:40 PM: I’m driving East out of San Francisco on I-80, fleeing my life under the cover of dusk. Having come to the interstate by a circuitous route, full of quick turns and double backs, I’m reasonably sure that no one is following me. I keep checking the rearview mirror anyway. From this point on, there’s no such thing as sure. Being too sure will get me caught.

I had intended to flee in broad daylight, but when you are going on the lam, there are a surprising number of last-minute errands to run. This morning, I picked up a set of professionally designed business cards for my fake company under my fake name, James Donald Gatz. I drove to a Best Buy, where I bought two prepaid cell phones with cash and then put a USB cord on my credit card — an arbitrary dollar amount I hoped would confuse investigators, who would scan my bill and wonder what gadgetry I had purchased. An oil change for my car was another head fake. Who would think that a guy about to sell his car would spend $60 at Oil Can Henry’s?

Link

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

