telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Top 5: Albums I missed in 2009 by Barbecue Bros
January 25, 2010, 11:27 am
Filed under: top 5 | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Either because I didn’t give an album enough listens or didn’t get around to purchasing it, here are some albums that may have had some sort of impact on my favorite albums of 2009 list.


1. The Big Pink – A Brief History of Love (4AD) – While this album had two of my favorite songs of the year – “Dominos” and “Velvet” – I didn’t buy the full album until after the new year. Too bad, as the other tracks on the record are just as  good electronic-influenced arena rock.

2. Bear In Heaven – Beast Rest Forth Mouth (Hometapes) – I think this one suffered from underplaying because of my own personal backlash at the name of the band. I have listened to it more since I compiled my list and wish I had given it a more fair shake. In any case, I will probably be seeing them in March with Cymbals Eat Guitars.

3. White Denim – Fits (Downtown) – Their previous album Workout Holiday made my 2008 list but I didn’t get to this one until after the new year either.

4. Real Estate – Real Estate (Woodsist) – An indie rock guitar album that deserved more listens. A Toro Y Moi favorite, too.

5. Mos Def – The Ecstatic (Downtown) – As I noted in my list, I didn’t listen to a lot of rap or hip hop this year. I still have yet to give this a listen but I have a feeling I could end up liking it a bit if its anything like Black on Both Sides as opposed to his more recent efforts (as I have been led to believe).

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] lists, Moon, movies, The Cove, The Hurt Locker | Leave a Comment  As I did  yesterday with albums I missed out in 2009, here are five movies that could have had some sort of impact on my favorite movies of 2009 […]

Pingback by Top 5: Movies I missed in 2009 « telling minor stories to avoid a major one




Leave a Reply

