telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Lists! 2009: Favorite Movies by Barbecue Bros
January 20, 2010, 4:14 pm
Filed under: lists | Tags: , , ,


1. Inglourious Basterds (dir. by Quentin Tarantino) – An amazingly well written and acted film (Christolph Waltz especially). Now one of my favorite Tarantino movies.

2. Fantastic Mr. Fox (dir. by Wes Anderson) – Yea, I’m a sucker for Wes Anderson but I loved the old school stop-motion puppets that fit perfectly with Wes Anderson’s dialog. The details of the sets and the puppet clothing are part of what makes this movie.

3. District 9 (dir. by Neill Blomkamp) – Definitely one of the most original science fiction movies I”ve seen in the past five years. I can’t say enough about this movie.

4. The Road (dir. by John Hillcoat) – This film played out just about how I imagined it in my head while reading the book earlier this year. The genuine moments of dread I experienced while reading the book were realized perfectly in the movie.

5. Up in the Air (dir. by Jason Reitman) – Great performances by the three leads, and a nicely made movie by Jason Reitman, who is really growing as a filmmaker with each film .

6. Avatar (dir. by James Cameron) – I was so glad I saw this movie in IMAX 3D as opposed to regular 3D or *gasp* non-3D. Technically brilliant and visually amazing most of the time, though there is some groan-worthy dialog and performances.

7. Adventureland (dir. by Greg Mottola) – A touching coming of age story about a boy trying to find his way working a nowhere job the summer after graduating from college. Directed by Greg Mottola, with a surprisingly nuanced performance by Kristen Stewart.

8. The Hangover (dir. by Todd Philips) – Hilarious and extremely re-watchable, especially with friends and beer.

9. Star Trek (dir. by JJ Abrams) – JJ Abrams makes another smart blockbuster.

10. Zombieland (dir. by Ruben Fleischer) – A great humorous take on the zombie movie, a la Shaun of the Dead (an apparent influence on this movie). Jesse Eisenberg had a nice year between this and Adventureland.

11. Gomorra
12. Observe and Report
13. The Informant!
14. The Girlfriend Experience
15. Funny People
16. Tyson
17. Anvil: The Story of Anvil
18. Public Enemies
19. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
20. Food, Inc

21. (500) Days of Summer
22. The Brothers Bloom
23. Extract
24. I Love You, Man
25. Away We Go

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Fantastic Mr. Fox was so good! I haven’t seen Inglorious Basterds, so I don’t about it being better…I agree that these are the best for what came out in theatres…

Comment by kristinalys

You should definitely see Inglourious Basterds asap

Comment by Tommy

You watched A LOT less movies in 2009 than you did in 2008. What happened?

BTW, I think The Hangover was #1 for me. IB would be #2. ST #3.

Still need to see a lot of movies, especially Avatar and Up in the Air.

Comment by Dan B.

This time around I didn’t rank every 2009 movie I saw – I just ranked the top 25. I probably saw about the same number of movies. For instance, I didn’t rank Transformers 2.

Comment by Tommy

[…] January 26, 2010 Top 5: Movies I missed in 2009 Posted by Tommy under top 5 | Tags: Big Fan, favorite movies of 2009, Last Cup, lists, Moon, movies, The Cove, The Hurt Locker | Leave a Comment  As I did  yesterday with albums I missed out in 2009, here are five movies that could have had some sort of impact on my favorite movies of 2009 list. […]

Pingback by Top 5: Movies I missed in 2009 « telling minor stories to avoid a major one

greetings, i came across

Comment by Tyler Chidley




Leave a Reply

