telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Netflix Rundown: December 09 by Barbecue Bros

In December I tried to get in a lot of 2009 movies for my forthcoming year-end list (to come after watching Avatar this weekend). Also, inexplicably Can’t Buy Me Love.

* indicates movies watched instantly


Food, Inc.
(2009)* – 7/10 – A little preachy but very informative on the unhealthy practices of the food industry and the effect it has on us as consumers.


The Brothers Bloom
(2009) – 7/10 – It started off very promisingly but the caper plots kind of fizzled out at the end.


Pan’s Labyrinth
(2006) – 8/10 – I’ve been meaning to watch this movie for about 2 years and finally got to it in December. It’s an interesting modern day fairytale.


Public Enemies
(2009) – 8/10 – Unfortunately, not quite Heat set in the 1930’s that I was hoping for. Still, some great gunfights but the Billie Frechette storyline seemed tacked on.


Can’t Buy Me Love
(1987) – 5/10 – Not that I am against watching mindless comedies every once in a while (clearly), but I don’t know how this made its way to the top of my queue. It is what I thought it would be – a dumb 80’s teen comedy.


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
(2009) – 7/10 – A darker and more well shot Harry Potter film.


District 9
(2009) – 9/10 – One of the best sci-fi movies I’ve seen in some time, and one of my favorite movies this year (likely top 5).

Currently have out:
The Wire: Season 1, Disc 1 (2003)
The Wire: Season 1, Disc 2 (2003)
American Pie: The Book of Love (2009)

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You could just borrow the Wire from me – not like I’m ever going to watch it.

Comment by Kenny




Leave a Reply

