telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Top 5: My favorite albums from 2008 by Barbecue Bros
December 11, 2009, 5:33 pm
Filed under: top 5 | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Since this is officially the last year of “the oughts” or “the oh-oh’s” or whatever you want to call it, that means only one thing: we now need to figure out what we call the next decade (the teens, I guess?). It also means I need to figure out my top 50 or 100 or whatever albums of this decade.

I finish up this week with 2008 (2009 still to come in early January). Interestingly enough, all five of these albums are from bands I have seen live in the past year, with all but Vampire Weekend seen at Bonnaroo.


1. Vampire Weekend – s/t (XL) – Kind of a surprise, if you remember my list from last year. But this album has just grown and grown on me to the point where Contra is probably my most anticipated album of 2010.


2. TV on the Radio – Dear Science (Interscope) – Yes, I am still a huge TVOTR fan, so this wasn’t going to drop very far.


3. Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago (Jagjaguwar) – A huge leap from its position of #11 to #3 in my revised list. Completely listenable.


4. Girl Talk – Feed the Animals (Illegal Art)Still the party album of the year.


5. MGMT – Oracular Spectacular (Red Ink/Columbia) – Some great jams on this album, and I am still hopeful for their next album despite their lackluster Bonnaroo set.

Others receiving votes: My Morning Jacket – Evil Urges (ATO), Deerhunter – Microcastle (4AD), The War on Drugs – Wagonwheel Blues (Secretly Canadian), Empire of the Sun – Walking on a Dream (EMI)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

