telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Top 5: My favorite albums from 2004 by Barbecue Bros
September 25, 2009, 4:33 pm
Filed under: top 5 | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Since this is officially the last year of “the oughts” or “the oh-oh’s” or whatever you want to call it, that means only one thing: we now need to figure out what we call the next decade (the teens, I guess?). It also means I need to figure out my top 50 or 100 or whatever albums of this decade.

After a few weeks off, I continue this week with 2004.


1. TV on the Radio – Desperate Youths, Bloodthirsty Babes (Touch & Go) – This album was a revelation when I first came across it (used my $13 or so from the class action lawsuit against the music industry to buy it). And from the beginning of “The Wrong Way” with “Staring at the Sun” following, it sounded like nothing I had really heard before. TV on the Radio have continued to evolve since this debut, but this will always be a turning point for me in music.


2. Liars – They Were Wrong, So We Drowned (Mute) – A huge change up from their dance punk debut, where the now-trio branched out into an album of more experimental, almost tribal music that “depicts the struggle between a village of Christians and the women they believe to be a coven of witches, alternating their sides of the story track by track.” Co-produced by TV on the Radio‘s David Sitek.


3. Shalabi Effect – The Trial of St. Orange (Alien8) – For a few years, I was all about Alien8 Recordings, a Canadian label specializing in experimental rock and post rock. This might have been my favorite of the albums I bought from them, a wildly eclectic mix of middle eastern-influenced, psychadelic post rock.


4. The Arcade Fire – Funeral (Merge) – A great, confident debut from the art pop band from Montreal. They set the bar quite high on this debut, and have since been unable to match it (though they’ve only released one full length since). Hearing the use of “Wake Up” in the commercials for Where the Wild Things Are has reminded me just how good this album was.


5. Ted Leo and the Pharmacists – Shake the Sheets (Lookout!) – I first saw Ted Leo in 2001 at an in-store at the now defunct Gate City Noise record store in Greensboro, NC and have been a pretty big fan ever since. For me, this is probably his most consistent album and thus, my favorite. “Me and Mia” and “Little Dawn” are the album highlights.

Honorable Mentions: Franz Ferdinand – s/t (Domino), Cee Lo Green – …is the Soul Machine (Arista), Masta Killa – No Said Date (Nature Sounds)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

