telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Top 5: My favorite albums from 2003 by Barbecue Bros
August 28, 2009, 1:03 pm
Filed under: top 5 | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Since this is officially the last year of “the oughts” or “the oh-oh’s” or whatever you want to call it, that means only one thing: we now need to figure out what we call the next decade (the teens, I guess?). It also means I need to figure out my top 50 or 100 or whatever albums of this decade.

After taking last week off, I look back to 2003 where I seemingly started to branch out a little bit more as evidenced by the albums in my top 5.


1. Outkast – Speakerboxxx/The Love Below (La Face) – It’s sad to me that there hasn’t been a proper Outkast album since 2003. I’m still excited to see where they go next.


2. Adam C. Forkner – [[[[VVRRSNN]]]] (K) – A wonderful, underrated gem of pop, electronic and dance music.


3. My Morning Jacket – It Still Moves (ATO) – Actually my gateway album to My Morning Jacket, and while I do enjoy the direction the band has taken since this album, I miss the reverb-soaked, Southern rock music they made for their first three albums.


4. Lightning Bolt – Wonderful Rainbow (Load) – The album that introduced me into noise music.


5. Cornelius – Point (Matador) – Not quite the cartoony mash-up of his awesome album Fantasma. A more organic, mature follow up.

Others receiving votes: cLOUDDEAD – Ten (Mush), Gregor Samsa – 27:36 (Iodine), Drive-By Truckers – Decoration Day (New West)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

