telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Seriously Serious Concert No. 14: Fiery Furnaces, White Rabbits, 8/18/09 by Barbecue Bros
August 19, 2009, 11:27 am
Filed under: Concert review | Tags: , , , ,


Fiery Furnaces, White Rabbits
8/18/09
Visulite Theatre, Charlotte, NC

After a thoroughly enjoyable set to open up Bonnaroo for me, I was looking forward to seeing White Rabbits again in my own town. This time through, they were co-headlining a tour with Fiery Furnaces, which at first appeared to be an odd pairing until I read this morning that they are both Brooklyn bands. Still, musically it is still an odd pairing.

White Rabbits opened up on this night of the tour and played for an hour. As was the case at Bonnaroo, they played a high energy set covering songs from both of their albums, as well as switching up instruments for nearly every song – all but one of the six band members played some sort of percussion at some point. The added percussionist/instrumentalist really does add an interesting dynamic to this band that I really haven’t seen of many other bands. Highlights were “They Done Wrong / We Done Wrong” and “Percussion Gun” off this year’s It’s Frightening and “Kid on My Shoulders” from Fort Nightly. Initially I was disappointed that they were they opener on this night, but an hour set seems to really suit them, plus I didn’t end up having to sit through an entire Fiery Furnaces set.

I’ve heard about the band ever since their acclaimed Blueberry Boat album, but never listened. Their brand of hyperkinetic, multiple-shifts-within-a-song music started to annoy after about 35 minutes, so my friends and I decided to head out. I think John was right on when he described them s “very very mediocre.” While they had some interesting moments live, I think my instincts not to listen all these years were right on with this band.

Next up: Drive-By Truckers on 8/28, again at Visulite

Some photos after the jump; the rest can be found here



Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

