telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Update: 10 movies I have to watch before I buy again 7/8/09 by Barbecue Bros

It took a little over a month, but I have officially watched all 10 movies I had planned to watch. And I held true to my self-challenge and have not bought anything in that timeframe. Yay for me. Now if you will excuse me, I’m off to Best Buy to buy “Eastbound and Down”…


Love on the Run (1979) –
7/10 – The final chapter in the Antoine Doinel cycle goes out with kind of a whimper. It utilizes flashbacks from the previous four chapters, but inventiveness and playfullness is pushed aside in favor of a more traditional, linear storyline. In it, Doinel divorces Christine, reconnects with Collette (from “Antoine and Collette”) on a train, and eventually ends up with a younger woman named Sabine (oddly enough with some help from both Christine and Collette). Doinel stubbornly refused to grow up over the duration of the cycle, and emotionally doesn’t end up far from where he started as a 12 -year old kid in The 400 Blows. Kind of a let down after the excellent previous two chapters.


The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (BD, 2008) –
9/10 – I admit I haven’t seen a ton of David Fincher movies, but after Benjamin Button and Zodiac, I am starting to become a convert. Button parallels Forrest Gump in many ways, telling a story of a special boy/man who weaves his way in and out of his true love’s life while taking on different roles and jobs (including service during war) along the way to growing up (relatively speaking for Benjamin Button). A sprawling and epic film, I really enjoyed The Curious Case of Benjamin Button quite a bit.


That Obscure Object of Desire (1977)
– 8/10 – This movie was the last film of spanish-born, surrealist filmmaker Luis Buñuel, and was nominated for an Oscar for both Best Foreign Language Film as well as Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium in 1979. It retains some surrealist elements by using two beautiful actresses (Carole Bouquet and Angela Molina) to alternately portray the different temperaments of Conchita (the titular object of desire). She tortures a middle-aged man named Mathieu (played by Buñuel regular Fernando Rey) who is enamored with her. She constantly plays hot and cold with him, always keeping sex at arm’s length before they ultimately appear to end up together shortly before a somewhat surprising ending. I don’t know if I would necessarily recommend this movie to any of my friends, but I found it to be certainly worth watching. Don’t know that I needed to buy it a couple years ago, however.

Have now watched (in order):
Salvatore Giuliano (1962)
A Skin, A Night (2008)
The Underneath (1995)
The Bad Sleep Well (1960)
Antoine and Collette (1962)
Stolen Kisses (1968)

Bed and Board (1970)

Love on the Run (1979)
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (BD, 2008)
That Obscure Object of Desire (1977)

Previously: 6/24/09 update
Previously: 6/10/09 update
Previously: Original Post

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

