telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Seriously Serious Concert No. 11: Band of Horses, 6/17/09 by Barbecue Bros
June 22, 2009, 10:06 am
Filed under: Concert review | Tags: , , , ,

Band of Horses, originally uploaded by twoguns.

In front of a sold-out Neighborhood Theatre (my first sold-out show there, I believe), Band of Horses brought the jams last Wednesday night. I had heard rumors of them being sub-par live going in, but they seemed energized (and maybe somewhat surprised) by the packed room and played what you would expect from Everything All the Time and Cease to Begin – “The Funeral,” “The Great Salt Lake,” “Weed Party,” “Is There a Ghost,” “Ode to LRC,” and “No One’s Gonna Love You” were all great. Sadly, no “St. Augustine” though.

They did also play a few new songs from their upcoming album, which they have been recording in Asheville as of earlier this year (in addition to recording with Kid Cudi). I feel like singer Ben Bridwell may have mentioned a possibly title and release timeframe, but can’t remember for the life of me.

Since they are now somewhat local (Mt. Pleasant, SC), hopefully it won’t take so long for them to return to Charlotte the next time, hopefully with a new album in tow.

 

The rest of my photos from the show can be seen here

Next up: Possibly Polvo on 6/26 or Matt and Kim on 7/2

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I could’ve sworn we met up with you to see BoH at a Tremont Music Hall show when I still lived in Charlotte.

I’ll never forget that night because Tester shamelessly stole Bracken’s date while she was there with Bracken.

Are you sure you weren’t at that show? I’m guessing it was Fall ’06.

Comment by michaeleller

I remember the show and was planning to go, but I ended up going to Charleston that weekend.

Comment by Tommy

[…] Neighborhood Theatre, Charlotte, NC 6/11 – Bonnaroo – Manchester, TN 6/17 – Band of Horses – Neighborhood Theatre, Charlotte, NC 7/12 – Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers – […]

Pingback by Lists! 2009: Top 5 Concerts and all of my music purchases « telling minor stories to avoid a major one




Leave a Reply

