telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Seriously Serious Concert No. 10: Bonnaroo 2009, final thoughts by Barbecue Bros
June 17, 2009, 1:38 pm
Filed under: Concert review | Tags: , , , ,

roo_header

Photos
Thursday
Friday
Saturday

I was a late decider for Bonnaroo (1.5 weeks before) but I was extremely glad that I did end up going.  I saw a ton of great bands that I already had wanted to see, had fun camping, and generally enjoyed the vibe of the whole festival, which I found to be fairly well-run.

But take a look at all the artists I saw: White Rabbits, Chairlift, Passion Pit, Animal Collective, Grizzly Bear, TV on the Radio, Phoenix, Public Enemy, Girl Talk, Bon Iver, Wilco, Nine Inch Nails, and MGMT. Many of those I had yet to see and those that I had were a few years ago anyways. It would have taken me hundreds of dollars to see those bands individually, which I guess is obviously the attraction to big festivals like this.

In addition to the bands, I saw a butt naked girl somehow scale a 12 foot tall tent in one single bound, met Hannah from American Teen, remembered how to camp, met some interesting people from all over the world, saw possibly the last NIN show in the US ever, and got a tan, among many things I’m probably forgetting. Not too shabby.

Even still, there were a ton of acts that I wished I had gotten to or had scheduling conflicts with: St. Vincent, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Santigold, Al Green, Patterson Hood, Beastie Boys, David Byrne, Heartless Bastards, Chairlift (acoustic), of Montreal,  Elvis Costello, Yeasayer, The Dirty Projectors, Erykah Badu, Snoop Dogg,  Andrew Bird, and Okkervil River.

In any case, as long as I have some interest in the headliners next year, I am very seriously considering going again. And definitely staying until Monday.

Next up: Tonight, Band of Horses and Arbouretum at the Neighborhood Theatre in Charlotte, a 7 minute walk from my house

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Leo and the Pharmacists/Titus Andronicus – Neighborhood Theatre, Charlotte, NC 6/11 – Bonnaroo – Manchester, TN 6/17 – Band of Horses – Neighborhood Theatre, Charlotte, NC 7/12 […]

Pingback by Lists! 2009: Top 5 Concerts and all of my music purchases « telling minor stories to avoid a major one




Leave a Reply

