telling minor stories to avoid a major one


10 movies I have to watch before I buy again by Barbecue Bros
June 4, 2009, 2:35 pm
Filed under: lists | Tags: , , ,

I have the tendency to buy movies, not watch them, buy more, forget about not watching the ones I already own. So I have vowed to watch the following movies that I own before I buy anything else. I’ve already watched one this past Sunday, Salvatore Giuliano, and am currently in the middle of A Skin, A Night.


Salvatore Giuliano (1962)watched on 5/31
I got this used at Edward McKay Used Books in Greensboro probably 3 Christmases ago. Really cool flick re-enacting the Sicilian movement for independence.


That Obscure Object of Desire (1977)

Bought new from a Deep Discount DVD Criterion sale probably 2 years ago. Not sure exactly why I chose this one, other than its a film I’ve always heard about. I just took off the wrapping this past weekend.


The Bad Sleep Well (1960)

Bought new from Best Buy probably close to 3 years ago. I’ve only seen the samurai films from Kurosawa, so I’m looking forward to see how what he does with “postwar corporate Japan.”

Antoine and Collette (1962)
Stolen Kisses (1968)
Bed and Board (1970)
Love on the Run (1979)

I bought this box set a few years ago in order to see The 400 Blows. Haven’t gotten around to watching the other films in the set, also directed by François Truffaut and with the protagonist of Antoine Doinel.


The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (BD, 2008)
I’m kind of a sucker for Criterion Collections, so I bought this when it came out a few weeks back because it was on sale at Best Buy.


The Underneath (1995)

I’m a pretty big fan of Steven Soderbergh, so I bought this used probably close to 3 years ago. I’ve also got The Good German on Netflix, so trying to watch that soon as well.


A Skin, A Night (2008)

The documentary about The National that came packaged as part of last year’s The Virginia EP. LAM got it for me about a year ago, but for some reason hadn’t felt the urge to watch it until I saw The National last week.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the info..nice movie

Comment by Movies

The life of Ben button was pretty good in my opinion but I don’t think its worth buying. In this digital age, not sure I’d any movies :)

Hope all is well. Stay in touch.

Comment by Terrance H

Ha, Terrance. I tend to buy a lot of stuff – cds, dvds, video games, etc – though I have admittedly cut it down quite a bit over the past few years. Especially since I have been on Netflix for going on 4 years now.

Anyways, hope things are well with you. Thanks for the comment.

Comment by Tommy

[…] 6/10/09 update Previously: Original Post […]

Pingback by Update: 10 movies I have to watch before I buy again 6/24/09 « telling minor stories to avoid a major one

[…] 6/24/09 update Previously: 6/10/09 update Previously: Original Post […]

Pingback by Update: 10 movies I have to watch before I buy again 7/8/09 « telling minor stories to avoid a major one




Leave a Reply

