telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Thursday Music Videos: 5/28/09 pumped for The National tonight edition by Barbecue Bros
May 28, 2009, 12:11 pm
Filed under: Thursday music videos | Tags: , ,

The National – “Available” – The past two times I’ve seen The National in concert, they haven’t played a ton from either of their first two Brassland albums, “Available” included (from Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers). Not sure if will be played tonight, but I always dig the songs when Matt Berninger gets all intense-like and screams.

The National – “About Today” – From the awesome Cherry Tree EP and a one-time set closer. Such a beautiful, heartbreaking song rising to a nice crescendo.

Wilco = “Shot in the Arm” – Lastly, R.I.P. Jay Bennett. Summerteeth is one of most impactful albums on me, though I haven’t listened to it in years. Sadly, it takes Bennett prematurely dying this past weekend to prompt me to do so. This album resonated with me pretty heavily when I first listened my senior year of high school. Besides “Via Chicago” this is the most emotional song on the album for me. Love the lyrics, love the sound (which I believe is widely attributed to Bennett’s influence). The first video is the album version (though not great quality). The second clip is a recently recorded version of it without him, but the song arrangement remains basically the same (maybe a little more noise though).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

