telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Thursday music videos: SXSW edition by Kenny
March 19, 2009, 9:48 am
Filed under: Thursday music videos

Twoguns is en route to SXSW. He’ll be picking me up in Dallas tomorrow and we will head to Austin from there (where we’ll meet Avent). In honor of this, I proudly present a special SXSW edition of Thursday vidoes:

The Hold Steady  – “Stay Positive” – This is the band I am personally most excited about seeing, hopefully more than once. This is the title track off their latest album, which I highly recommend (FYI, twoguns ranked it the #12 album of 2008).

Explosions in the Sky – “The Birth and Death of the Day” – Another band I’m pumped to see. This is a live perfomance of them in Seattle. I’d think with the Friday Night Lights connection, this band would be popular in Texas, so I’m expecting them to get a lot of love.

Ra Ra Riot – “Can You Tell” – I don’t know much about this band, but their name has been popping up a lot lately. They are opening for Deathcab for Cutie and Cold War Kids at a show we are going to in April and obviously will be at SXSW, so I figured I’d check them out. I like what I’ve heard thus far.

The Decemberists – “O Valencia” – The Decemberists have long been a band that I’ve really like, but haven’t listend to all that much (for no particular reason). I picked up the new album (Hazards of Love) on Tuesday, and was really, really impressed upon first listen. It will definitely be added to my regular rotation. This song is not on that album.

Kenny

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

