telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Seriously Serious Concert No 3: Vetiver/The Sian Alice Group/The Houstons, 3/14/09 by Barbecue Bros
March 16, 2009, 2:45 pm
Filed under: Concert review | Tags: , ,

I made my way to Snug Harbor for the first time after a rainy day of drinking Guinnesses and watching  the ACC Tournament at Black Finn. Openers The Houstons are a local Charlotte duo made of a guitarist and a drummer/keyboardist. Their sound is a pretty full sound for being just two guys, and the drummer/keyboardists was especially impressive, playing the keyboard with his right hand and drumming with his left. They kind of reminded me of The Album Leaf, in a good way.

The Sian Alice Group are a female-fronted band from London and have a shoegazer/noise rock sound. I get what they are doing, but perhap I wasn’t quite in the mood because I found their live act a little wanting. Sometimes it took them a little while to get there, but when they came to a musical climax it was pretty cool. I might be interested in checking them out on record.

Shortly before midnight, Vetiver came on to a fairly full house. After taking a few songs before the sound guy got the mix right, they started to get into a good rhythm. I don’t know a lot of the band’s output, but I recognized some of the songs off their recent album Tight Knit and they sounded good. I didn’t stay for their whole set because it had been a long day, but I did walk away liking them further.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] NC 3/12 – Ryan Adams and the Cardinals – Township Auditorium, Columbia, SC 3/14 – Vetiver/The Sian Alice Group/The Houstons – Snug Harbor, Charlotte, NC 3/19 – SXSW – Austin, TX 4/9 – Death Cab for […]

Pingback by Lists! 2009: Top 5 Concerts and all of my music purchases « telling minor stories to avoid a major one




Leave a Reply

