telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Netflix Rundown: February 09 by Barbecue Bros
March 3, 2009, 12:50 pm
Filed under: Netflix Rundown | Tags: , ,

Pretty high volume movie-watching month filled with mostly a lot of classic blind spots of mine.

Cool Hand Luke (1967) – 10/10
I’ve probably been wanting to watch this for a good 5 years now, and it didn’t disappoint me at all. This Paul Newman kid can act.

The Third Man (1949) – 8/10
A classic I didn’t know much about except that it was part of the Criterion Collection and that Orson Welles is in it (and promptly steals every scene he’s in). It’s a beautifully shot black and white noir. I could stand to watch a lot more movies like this.

Righteous Kill (2008) – 4/10
Once again, AV Club’s I Watched This on Purpose doesn’t let me down. I knew this was going to be awful going in, but at least it had Carla Gugino sex scenes (although of the non-graphic variety). I will say that it had a nice nod to Heat at the end, so it can’t be all bad.

Rent (2005) – 5/10
I haven’t seen the theater production, but LAM just did and wanted to see the movie afterwards. So I moved it to the top of my queue and watched it a few days later. Like I said, I didn’t see the theater production but it couldn’t possibly be as cheesy as this movie was, can it? I guess its cool that most of the original cast came back for the movie, but it just wasn’t for me.

The Ladykillers (2004) – 6/10
And with The Ladykillers, I have now seen all Coen Brother movies. This isn’t close to being the cream of the crop, and is in contention for my least favorite Coen Brothers movie with Intolerable Cruelty.

The Godfather (1972) – 9/10
I figured it was probably time to go ahead and watch the Godfather Trilogy (or at least the first two). It remains to be seen if they end up being my favorite movies of all time, but I’ve read enough and enjoyed the movie enough to be able to appreciate them for what they are.

Network (1976) – 6/10
What I thought started off as a smart satire eventually devolves into an over-the-top, hysterical mess. Though it was cool to see the origin of “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it!”

In addition to these movies, I saw three movies that were in my queue on my flight to Ireland on Delta’s cool on-demand tv’s:

Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2008) – 6/10
I was distracted by the poor acting of leads Scarlett Johansson and Rebecca Hall, but otherwise about what I expected from Woody Allen.

Ghost Town (2008) – 7/10
Not a big success at the box office, but Ricky Gervais and Kristen Wiig were very funny and it wasn’t the worst way to spend two hours on a 6 hour flight. I have to admit I was a little surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

Rocknrolla (2008) – 7/10
I never saw Revolver, but felt this was a return to form for Guy Ritchie. This is the first part of a planned trilogy, but it’ll be interesting to see how much more he can milk out of London gangster stories.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

