telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Top 5: 2/6/09 by Barbecue Bros
February 6, 2009, 11:55 am
Filed under: top 5 | Tags: , , ,

1. Jon Stewart to Dick Cheney: “Why are you such a dick?” (link)

2. Cool Hand Luke (link)
I’ve been interested in this movie for years now, but finally decided to bump it to the top of my Netflix queue because I was finished trying to watch 2008 movies. Paul Newman was a badass, and there were some great performances by George Kennedy (who won Oscar in 1968 for Best Actor in a Supporting Role) and Strother Martin. Now possibly one of my favorite movies of all time.


3. Downtown Owl by Chuck Klosterman (link)
Klosterman writes what he knows in his first novel, but I continue to enjoy his style of writing.


4. Portal – Xbox 360 (link)
Really the entire Orange Box, but I’ve only finished Portal and am just a few hours into Half Life 2. It wasn’t until I got the Orange Box at a Circuit City closeout sale that I actually purchased the game, though its been on my radar for the past year-and-a-half.  Similar to Braid, the mind-bending physics puzzles take some getting used to but if you are able to get through the game without using a walkthrough then they are also very rewarding. I can’t recommend this game enough.

5. Blood Simple. (link)
The Coen Brothers’ first film. It seems a little dated, but I do find it interesting to see where the Coens came from. You can see touches they would later explore further in Miller’s Crossing or No Country for Old Men. Now on to The Ladykillers and then I believe I will have seen all Coen features.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

