telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Lists! 2008: Favorite Songs 5-1 by Barbecue Bros
January 13, 2009, 2:08 pm
Filed under: lists | Tags: , , ,

5. Pete & the Pirates – “Mr. Understanding” (from Little Death)
Fun little ditty from the Reading band. Kinda wish I at least picked up the album to see what its all about.

4. The Walkmen – “In the New Year” (from You & Me)
I’ve said a lot about this song throughout the year and included it on my end of summer mix. The vocals are probably the main reason why I like the song.

3. Pop Noir – “Girls of Prey”
I don’t know a ton about this band of twins, and they don’t seem to have released any albums. But this song has a Joy Division-esque sound, which makes sense because the band comes from Manchester.

link

2. The War on Drugs – “Show Me the Coast” (from Wagonwheel Blues)
A ten-minute opus that perfectly mixes shoegazer and Bob Dylan influences.

link

1. MGMT – “Time to Pretend” (from Oracular Spectacular)
All you need to know about this song is the opening lyrics:
“I’m feeling rough, I’m feeling raw, I’m in the prime of my life/
Let’s make some music, make some money, find some models for wives/
I’ll move to Paris, shoot some heroin, and fuck with the stars/
You man the island and the cocaine and the elegant cars”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

