telling minor stories to avoid a major one


The Great iTunes Purge ’08, Pt. 1 by Barbecue Bros
September 16, 2008, 10:51 am
Filed under: music

The idea of a great iTunes purge came along because I needed to free up hard disk space on my laptop since its slowness was pissing me off. Once I got started, I realized that I hadn’t listened to many of these albums in almost two years, or sometimes never. This won’t be terribly insightful and the albums aren’t really in any sort of order, but I figured I’d give it a go and see what happens.

!!!Myth Takes – Hey remember in 2001 when dancepunk was gonna take off and be huge? Uhh yea, me neither.

God is An AstronautAll is Violent, All Is Bright – There was a time while in college I might have eaten this up, but do I really need more generic post-rock at this point in my life? Also, awful awful AWFUL band name.

Do Make Say ThinkBesides – I guess I’m really just not as into post-rock as I used to be.

Outkast – Idlewild OST – I love the shit out of Outkast, but I never found myself either watching the Idlewild movie or listening to the soundtrack.

Wolf ParadeApologies to the Queen Mary – I probably prefer the lead singer’s other project Handsome Furs to Wolf Parade.

Handsome FursPlague Park – Doesn’t mean I want to keep it though…DELETE.

Ryan AdamsThe Foley Sessions – Ryan Adams is one of my favorite artists ever, but I’ve never been a huge fan of bootlegs. Sorry, Ryan.

Sad DraculaFasterpiece – One of many albums that Ryan Adams released on the internet a few years ago. It wasn’t a proper release for a reason. Sorry, Ryan.

Scary MansionHalf the Truth – I was hoping this might be good as a former favorite p:ano since she is signed to Zum. But it’s not.

Smashing PumpkinsZeitgeist – Because I am no longer in 7th grade anymore.

Times New VikingRip It Off – This Pitchfork-approved album made my head hurt. Does that mean I am getting old? Effff.

TravisThe Boy With No Name – Oh look, Travis made the same album for the fourth time in a row!

The Good The Bad The Queen – s/t – On paper it should be a good album with Damon Albarn of Blur, Paul Simonon of The Clash and Simon Tong of The Verve, but I barely remember what it sounds like. So that can’t be a good thing.

GuillemotsRed – It sounded like bad euro-pop trash.

Joan of ArcJoan of Arc, Dick Cheney, Mark Twain – Tim Kinsella’s kind of pretentious. Ok, he’s a lot pretentious. The only reason I kept this around is because I bought it off eMusic in 2005.

These Arms Are SnakesOxeneers or The Lion Sleeps When Its Antelope Go – Also an eMusic purchase I kept around only because I paid for it. No longer the case.

LazarusHawk Medicine – It’s supposed to be haunting, dirge-y folk music, but I seem to remember his voice being kind of unbearable.

Leonard CohenThe Best Of – I have the physical copy and I never found myself listening to it on iTunes.

Midnight JuggernautsDystopia – I liked their one remix of the Dragonette song, but this was too fey and precious, even for me.

DragonetteGalore – See above.

No Neck Blues BandLetters from the Serth; No Neck Blues BandEver Borneo! – I’m not sure if I ever liked this band or just wanted to say that I did. I had these albums since the Soulseek days, and I don’t believe I have listened to them in the past 3 years.

NoisettesWhat’s the Time Mr. Wolf? – I was actually impressed with them when they opened for TV on the Radio last year. I’d see them as an opening band again but don’t think I’d actually buy an album of theirs.

Drive-By TruckersA Blessing and A Curse – I like DBT quite a bit, but this is one of their weaker albums. Plus, I own a physical copy.

Boards of CanadaThe Campfire Headphase – Some people like this album but I don’t get why. Sounds like a bad attempt to emulate their earlier, better album Music Has the Right to Children.

Beth OrtonComfort of Strangers – I never listened to this. Maybe because I’m kinda sexist when it comes to music?

John VanderslicePixel Revolt – I do generally like John Vanderslice, but this album was boring as ish, save for maybe one song.

Alexi MurdochTime Without Consequence – One good song – “Orange Sky” – and I might only like that song cause it was on the first season of The OC. Though I believe the version on this album was way overproduced compared to the EP version featured on the show.

CaribouAndorra – I don’t even remember listening to this.

Comets on FireAvatar – Ditto.

Andrew BirdArmchair ApocryphaAndrew Bird tends to be hit or miss for me.

K.C. AccidentalAnthems for the Could’ve Bin Pills – I got this because of its association with Broken Social Scene but it’s a snoozer.

Dinosaur JrBeyond – Not a bad album, it’s just that I never listened to it.

Frank BlackBluefinger – I pretty much only enjoy Frank Black in The Pixies.

Loose FurBorn Again in the USA – Hey, remember when I used to eat up anything Wilco related?

CorneliusFantasma; CorneliusPoint – Love Cornelius, but I have physical copies of both of these.

BeckThe Information – I’ve always felt like I should like Beck more than I actually do. Oh well.

SixtooJackals and Vipers in Envy of Men – The tracks are titled Pts. 1-13. Are you kidding me?

+/-Let’s Build a Fire –  +/- started off as glitchy pop music but I think eventually the dude incorporated more guitars into it. I just don’t have the time.

Jesse Sykes and the Sweet HereafterLike Love Lust and the Open Halls of the Soul – Unmemorable.

Jon Brion – Meaningless – I actually do like this album quite a bit, but it’s a bad rip. Too bad, but I think I’ll try to search out more from Brion.

Beastie BoysThe Mix Up – This wasn’t good even just for listening to at the gym. C’mon Beasties!

Danger DoomOccult Hymn – Though I like Danger Doom, I stopped watching Adult Swim years ago. This was a free EP from the Adult Swim website and features The Aqua Teen Hunger Force.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

so is your computer any faster now?

Comment by Eller

Part 2 is tonight, so I’ll let you know once that’s done

Comment by twoguns

You’re wrong about Idlewild.

Comment by Kenny

How can I be wrong about stating a fact?

Comment by twoguns

[…] ‘08, Pt. 2 Jump to Comments All told, I freed up approximately 6GB of music (including Pt. 1) which was only about 18% of my music collection. That turns out to not be as huge as I thought it […]

Pingback by The Great iTunes Purge ‘08, Pt. 2 « telling minor stories to avoid a major one

[…] music | Tags: iTunes, lists, music | Leave a Comment  I also did this last September, in two parts. This year, I only cleared about 2.57 GB off my hard drive. Albums listed in no particular […]

Pingback by The Great iTunes Purge ‘09 « telling minor stories to avoid a major one




Leave a Reply

