telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Linkdown: 7/30/08 by Barbecue Bros
July 30, 2008, 11:50 am
Filed under: tv

Interview with Mad Men creator Matthew Weiner

Interview with Elisabeth Moss (aka Zoey from West Wing and Peggy from Mad Men)

Strangers with Candy creators Amy Sedaris and Paul Dinello are reuniting for a movie on Nickelodeon (?!)

– So is the Office spin-off dead or what? That links a few weeks old but it wouldn’t be the worst thing if it is dead…

– OMG earthquake! Jessie from Big Brother: “Must take off shirt…now”

– Could Ben Silvermen get fired?

– OMG so jealous: Carol Vessey gets seduced by a minor on Weeds

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Since you brought it up…

I’m all but finished with season 1 of Mad Men (2 episodes remaining) and I can’t even measure my level of disappointment. It’s catastrophic…

The reviews… the nominations… the concept… the creator being a former writer for ‘The Sopranos.’ It should’ve been a home run right?

It’s sooooo slow. Gruelingly so. I don’t know… I wanted to like Mad Men. I really did. But episode after episode my attention kept wandering and I kept having to fight the urge to do other things while it was on. Never a good feeling.

Have you seen it? What do you think? You can praise the set design and all of the perfect little subtleties all you want… but those things don’t make for an interesting hour of television.

Comment by Eller

I’m halfway through the season, with discs 3 and 4 at home to be watched this weekend. Pacing hasn’t been an issue for me so far. So far I like it enough…certainly worthy of watching. But I’m interested in how the rest of the season turns out.

Comment by twoguns

Finished season 1 yesterday and went right into the two episodes in season 2. I guess the way I feel about the show is summed up by the latest recap from the AV Club:

“Maybe it’s because I’m in that place Matthew Weiner claims to be in, where just ‘living in this world’ is enough, but to me the action of this show isn’t in the big plot movements but in the small character moments.”

Comment by twoguns

couldn’t agree more with that summation…

and i guess that means I’M in a place where i’m looking for a little more than ‘small character moments’ in the shows i’m watching at the moment.

as an example of how much i WANT to like mad men, i’ve tivo’d both of the new eps. i just don’t know if i’ll ever get around to watching them. I still need to watch the last two episodes from season 1.

Comment by Eller

revised thoughts:

thought the last 2 episodes were fantastic… easily the best of the season… and even though it mostly more ‘small character moments,’ they seemed to carry more weight and impact in these last two episodes (probably because majority of the arcs and plot points were being wrapped up).

because of the final 2, my grade for the season goes from a C- to solid B. And I will check out the new season… in hopes that they can carry over some of the momentum from the end of the last one. we shall see…

Comment by Michael




Leave a Reply

