telling minor stories to avoid a major one


NP: Radiohead by Barbecue Bros
May 7, 2008, 1:00 pm
Filed under: music, NP:

In light of this coming Friday’s Radiohead concert (ZOMG PSYCHED!), I have been revisiting their albums, more or less going in reverse chronological order. My thoughts…


In Rainbows
(2007)
It had been about four years since Hail to the Thief and I hadn’t been excited about Radiohead in about two years, but In Rainbows quickly made me remember exactly why I enjoy the band so much. Thom left most of the experimentation on his 2006 solo album The Eraser and Radiohead made its most straightforward album since OK Computer. Also, the long-awaited “Nude” finally appeared on an album, 9 years after being teased in the Radiohead doc Meeting People is Easy


Hail to the Thief
(2003)
I saw them live on their tour for this album and really enjoyed it. It was at that concert during the “the rain drops the rain drops” part of “Sit Down, Stand Up” where it actually started raining. Despite that transcendent moment and my initial enjoyment of the album overall, I cooled off on Radiohead over the next four years until the aforementioned In Rainbows. However, listening to HTTT again, I actually enjoy it a lot more than I remembered. “There There,” “2 + 2 = 5,” and “A Punchup at a Wedding” especially.


Amnesiac
(2001)
It still sounds about as good as it did to me a few years ago. That is, still the little brother of the exceptional Kid A but better than Pablo Honey. Personally, I’d probably rank it below Hail to the Thief but above Pablo Honey at this point. Still, it has “You and Whose Army?,” “I Might Be Wrong” and “Dollars and Cents.”


I Might Be Wrong: Live Recordings (2001)
Pretty good live mini-album, but mostly notable for two songs: the best.version.ever. of “Like Spinning Plates” and the long awaited recording of “True Love Waits.” “Like Spinning Plates” eschews its electronic textures found on Amnesiac in favor of a gorgeous piano backing. “True Love Waits” was a live staple and fan favorite for a few years, but had yet to be included on any albums, EP’s or singles.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Not doing the other albums?

Comment by Susong

Just had to give myself time to listen to them

Comment by twoguns




Leave a Reply

