telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Lists!: Favorite movies of 2007 by Barbecue Bros
January 23, 2008, 8:11 pm
Filed under: lists, movies

no_country_for_old_men-2.jpg
1. No Country for Old Men – Best film I saw last year by far with the most menacing villain in recent movie history

2. There Will Be Blood – P.T. Anderson’s latest is a sprawling american epic about greed, religion and solitude

3. Juno – Last year’s surprise indie hit features great performances all around and whip-smart (though thankfully not too smart for its own good) dialogue

4. Knocked Up – A great follow-up to The 40-Year Old Virgin

5. No End in Sight – Eye-opening doc on the screwing of the pooch that is the Iraq war by the current administration

6. The Darjeeling Limited – Wes Anderson’s latest film retains his inimitable style

7. The Bourne Ultimatum – Matt Damon continues to not be a Streisand in his latest (last?) Bourne collaboration with director Paul Greengrass

8. Hot Fuzz – Great send up of cop movies and Michael Bay from Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg

9. Superbad – Where Judd Apatow cemented his brand of comedy as a marketable force

10. Helvetica – The inner font geek in my loved this doc about the typeface which celebrated its 50th birthday last year

Others receiving votes: Grindhouse, Ratatouille

Didn’t see but wanted to: The Savages, Michael Clayton, Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead, Once, Lars and the Real Girl (basically, a lot of movies)

Feel free to post your list…

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

1. No Country for Old Men
2. Zodiac
3. The Bourne Ultimatum
4. Knocked Up
5. 1408
6. Saw IV
7. Superbad
8. Disturbia
9. American Gangster
10. Breach

Comment by Dan

1. No Country
2. There Will Be Blood
3. Superbad
4. Juno
5. Knocked Up
6. Ratatouille
7. The Darjeeling Limited

343. Norbit
344. The Bourne Ultimatum

Note: I didn’t actually see Norbit – I’m just assuming it’s the worst movie of the year other than the Bourne movie.

Comment by Kenny

How can Norbit and The Bourne Ultimatum be the worst two movies this year? They were both nominated for an Oscar.

Comment by twoguns

Really? Kenny… Tommy (and almost every critic in the u.s. of a.)?!? Did y’all really think that TWBB was the 2nd best movie of 2007?

As in… better than every single movie that was released with the exception of one (which i agree, was the best movie of the year)?

I was astronomically disappointed with TWBB. Not since Ray have I been so perplexed about how so many people can love such a mediocre movie.

Granted the first third and MAYBE the first two-third’s were fantastic. But these parts were only good because they were building towards what should have been an amazing climax. It was gathering momentum and creating a fantastic world…

[quasi-spoiler alert]
…and then Daniel Plainview’s “brother” shows up and the movie pretty much goes to crap.

I get it. I’ve seen Citizen Kane, I’m familiar with the whole ‘rise and fall,’ ‘destroyed by the animal within’ concept. But even lesser movies about this topic have been able to give us a final act that’s stirred at least some kind of emotion.

TWBB fell apart completely. To the point where I’m not even sure if I would say it was “good.”

I loved the soundtrack though… and as long as I don’t think about it for very long, I thought DDL was pretty amazing (although it kinda felt a little self-indulgent after 2 and a half hours).

I actually really liked what Richard Roeper had to say about it. Check it out.

Comment by Michael Eller

Remember Eller, your driving reason for seeing movies is the story. Not everyone’s reason for enjoying something is as neat and tidy as that. I’m actually amazed you liked No Country that much…with that last half hour and all.

Comment by Sus

My deal with There Will Be Blood was distinguishing it for it’s ambition and scope. I’m still trying to wrap my head around the film, but I do feel that it is the type of movie that you don’t see every year, let alone every decade.

But that said, I still enjoyed it a lot…the score by Jonny Greenwood was amazing and set the tone wonderfully for the movie, DDL and Paul Dano were both fantastic, and I even enjoyed the character of H.W. as a young face of the “family business” eventhough his dad/stepdad is a monster.

Comment by twoguns

I am updating my Top Ten now that I have seen a lot more films from 2007 (almost all of them Oscar nominated films). This has drastically changed my Top Ten. So as of March 4, 2008, here are my Top Ten Films of 2007:

1. No Country For Old Men
2. There Will Be Blood
3. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
4. Into the Wild
5. Zodiac
6. The Bourne Ultimatum
7. Lars and the Real Girl
8. Knocked Up
9. Juno
10. Saw IV

Fin.

Comment by Dan

I finally watched Darjeeling tonight after putting it off for a few weeks. It was my first ever Wes Anderson movie. Actually, no it wasn’t. Hotel Chevalier was. Anyhow, I thought it was a strange movie. 7/10. I liked the turquoise colored walls of that Indian house and the final scene at the end where they showed everybody in their compartments doing their thing.

Comment by Dan

The soundtrack was great, though.

Comment by Dan




Leave a Reply

