telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Lists!: Favorite Xbox 360 games of 2007 by Barbecue Bros
January 9, 2008, 9:16 pm
Filed under: lists, video games


1. Rock Band
The most fun you will have with your friends for the forseeable future. Sure, Guitar Hero II was awesome, but throw in drums, a bass, and a mic and you have the ultimate musical rhythm game experience.

 
2. Bioshock
This game is critically acclaimed for a reason (Metacritic score of 96). It has an original storyline (not aliens or war), is flat-out creepy at parts, and the Big Daddies are one of the most compelling characters ever created.


3. Halo 3
So the long-awaited final part of the Halo trilogy is only my third favorite game of the year? Big indication of how good the games were this year (not to mention the games I didn’t get to – notably The Orange Box and Mass Effect). Halo‘s single player is still very good, though the story lacks complete cohesion. The multiplayer is obviously where its at – with the addition of the Forge and saved films features.


4. Call of Duty 4
Thankfully, the makers of the Call of Duty series decided to shake it up and set the latest game in modern times rather than keeping it in the overdone World War II setting. Single player campaign is a little short and still doesn’t feature co-op, but it takes some risks that the series was lacking in previous incarnations.


5. Crackdown
Most people bought Crackdown for the free Halo 3 beta. It actually turned out to be a great sandbox game where instead of wreaking havoc, you are actually controlling it. It incorporates RPG game elements where you slowly increase the abilities of your super cop. You start off as a normal (albeit 6’3″ with 250lbs of solid muscle) and end up jacked and able to effortlessly jump from building to building. Endlessly replayable even after you have completed the storyline, this game actually set off my fear of heights while I was climbing tall skyscrapers in one bound.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

First of all, my own list (videogames in general, not just 360):

5) Halo 3 (360)
4) God of War II (PS2)
3) Guitar Hero III (360)
2) Assassin’s Creed (360)
1) The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass (DS)

*Keep in mind, I’m well aware of the fact that I still need to experience BioShock, Orange Box, and Mass Effect.

As for your list… I’m genuinely shocked that Assassin’s Creed didn’t crack your top 5 OR your “i can’t believe i missed it” list. I’m only about 1/5 of the way through it right now, but I’m having an absolute blast. And if it wasn’t for the best Zelda game I’ve played since ‘Ocarina in Time,’ it would have easily taken my top spot.

Side plug: If you don’t own a DS, Phantom Hourglass makes it worth the purchase in and of itself. Absolutely fantastic game that is both intriguing and tirelessly fun. The way you control Link with the stylus/touch screen is both efficient and a blast. I cannot say enough about this game.

And one last thing… I’ve never understood everyone’s obsession with the Call of Duty series. I played through 2 when it just came out for the 360 and found it to be incredibly boxy and restrictive in it’s movement. I’ve always appreciated that the Halo series really had a firm grasp on creating fluid, responsive movement with the control sticks. The movement on Call of Duty just feels so archaic to me. You can move horizontally and vertically fine, but anything in between just doesn’t feel natural to me… which is largely why I’ve been so surprised by everyone’s love for the series and particularly Modern Warfare.

Am I alone on this, or do you know what I’m getting at?

Comment by Michael Eller

honorable mention:

Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 (360)

Comment by Michael Eller

Best game of the year: Super Mario Galaxy, obvi.
Best game of the year while drinking: Rock Band
Best game of 2008: Mario Kart Wii (it has to be, doesn’t it?)

Comment by Kenny

Thanks for sharing these Xbox 360 thoughts. I’m bookmarking this for future reference.
First we have the Xbox 360 which of course is the next generation in the Xbox line. We also have the Sony PlayStation 3 which is Sony’s newest incarnation of the PlayStation which caused quite a ruckus upon its release, and then we have the Nintendo Wii which on its opening day completely sold out all available units
I am currently on holiday so, for this reason, I’ve nothing better to do than surf the web for Xbox 360 games, lie around and update my blog. Well, more or less anyway. Doug

Comment by Doug

I will definitely play Assassin’s Creed sooner rather than later. I was admittedly swayed by some mediocre reviews I read early on, but I am still interested in the game.

As far as Call of Duty, I’m not sure I’m with you on the movement though I can’t be sure that I’ve paid a whole lot of attention to it. But the story in Modern Warfare was very compelling and overall, the series does a really good job of having extremely intense gameplay. I never played COD 3, but 2 and MW were both that way for me.

Comment by twoguns

I just put in my first 2 hours on Bioshock. It kinda reminds me of Resident Evil 4 right now (in terms of scaring the crap out of me every 5 minutes or so).

I like it a lot. I don’t love it yet, but like I said, I’m only 2 hours in.

p.s. anytime I compare something to RE 4, that’s a huge plus. That game is hands down in my top 10 of all time.

Comment by Michael

I’m a little over an hour into Assassin’s Creed and so far I am really enjoying it. I could definitely see it cracking my top 5 from last year if I had played it in time. Thanks for the rec, Eller.

Comment by twoguns




Leave a Reply

