telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Lists!: Top Ten Albums of 2007 (as chosen by Kenny) by Kenny
January 2, 2008, 3:47 pm
Filed under: lists, music

Here are my favorite albums of 2007. I’m sure I missed a ton of stuff that I haven’t heard for whatever reason, and I also didn’t include EPs, but here it is:

10) The Snake The Cross The Crown Cotton Teeth – The sophomore effort from the Alabama based quartet is quite different from 2004’s Mander Salis. The group seems to have reinvented their sound to become almost an alt-country group. I like the album so much because it feels very real and incredibly honest. My guess is that most people reading this haven’t heard of this band, but they need to. (Favorite jam: Electronic Dream Plant)

9) SpoonGa Ga Ga Ga Ga – I feel like I always know what I’m going to get when I buy a Spoon album – a solid, upbeat record with a bunch of songs that I can’t remember the next day. I listen to Spoon a good bit, but I can probably only name four or five songs off the top of my head. I have no idea why. Anyway, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga is a good album, and I’ll remember why next time I put it in. (Favorite jam: You Got Yr. Cherrybomb)

8 ) The ShinsWincing the Night Away – The Shins may be my least favorite band that I really like, if that makes any sense. I rarely find myself wanting to listen to The Shins, but I’m never disappointed when I do. Anyway, Wincing the Night Away is their best work, and it contains my favorite “Eff You” song of 2007 (Turn on Me). (Favorite jam: Turn on Me)

7) Arcade FireNeon Bible – I spent years ignoring this band because I hate their name. Seriously, doesn’t Arcade Fire sound like a crappy punk band? But Neon Bible was getting such great reviews, I had to check it out. I’m glad I did. The album has great instrumentation and arrangements and a couple of really great songs. I don’t feel like I’ve listened to it enough, which may be why it’s not higher on the list. (Favorite jam: Intervention)

6) Bright EyesCassadaga – I find Conor Oberst to be incredibly poetic. I don’t really relate to a lot of what he sings about, but I feel like it’s full of emotion, which means something. Anyway, I don’t like Cassadaga quite I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning, but it’s still pretty awesome. (Favorite jam: If the Brakeman Turns My Way)

5) Band of HorsesCease to Begin – Though it lacks a standout song (like The Funeral on Everything All the Time), Cease to Begin is a really great album from start to finish. The heavily reverbed guitars give Band of Horses a My Morning Jacket-esque sound, but, in my opinion, their songs are more accessible. Cease to Begin also sports the best album cover of the year. (Favorite jam: No One’s Gonna Love You)

4) The Ike Reilly AssassinationWe Belong to the Staggering Evening – I had never heard of these guys before Tommy brought them to my attention, but apparently Ike Reilly is kind of a big deal in the indie music world. I can see why. We Belong to the Staggering Evening is one of those albums I can put on any time and it’ll put me in a better mood. I’m not really sure what else to say other than give it a listen – you won’t regret it. (Favorite jam: You’re So Plain)

3) Ryan AdamsEasy Tiger – How Ryan Adams can keep putting out so much good music is beyond me. Easy Tiger is another really great album. It also contains the funnest song of the year (Halloweenhead). (Favorite jam: Halloweenhead, obvi)

 

2) RadioheadIn Rainbows – The band that can do no wrong (at least in my eyes) did everything right with this album – right down to the innovative way they released it. Less experimental than the past few albums (maybe Thom Yorke is saving that crazy stuff for his solo releases?), In Rainbows is Radiohead’s best work since OK Computer. (Favorite jam: Bodysnatchers)

1) The NationalBoxer – I really tried to figure out a way to not make this album number one because I love Radiohead so much, but this album is too good to put anywhere else. The album is consistently amazing. Matt Berninger’s distinctive baritone voice makes it very memorable, and the instrumentation on the album is pretty incredible. (Favorite jam: Slow Show)

 

-Kenny

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Couple of Things:

a) kenny you don’t like the name ‘Arcade Fire?’ how about ‘Allergic Reaction?’ That’s my Guitar Hero III band name… and we’re awesome.

b) when I first read what you said about Bright Eyes, I thought you were going to say that you find Connor to be incredibly ‘pathetic.’ In my opinion… that is a much more fitting descriptioin of Mr. Oberst. i hate Bright Eyes.

Comment by michaeleller

Ohhhhh, vitriol from Eller!

Comment by twoguns

Also, Kenny, Susong and my band’s name is Tall Cool Budweiser .

Comment by twoguns

[…] Favorite albums of 2007 Jump to Comments Kenny already shared his, so here we […]

Pingback by Lists!: Favorite albums of 2007 « telling minor stories to avoid a major one

To all Ike Reilly fans who know how to have a good time:

Be Like Ike @ Ikeblog.com
——————
Cars and girls and drinks and songs, make this world spin around…

Have you had a Reilly-esque moment & lived to see another day?
If so, we want to hear about it…in detail.

Share your sordid stories at http://www.ikeblog.com
Login with the user name: ike@rockridgemusic.com (password: ikereilly)
and give us the dirty details…
then send the link to all your wasted friends to read what you wrote about them.
You can post anonymously if you want…we won’t tell.

Just login, write what you like & hit “Save”…your post will be live shortly after.
If you have any trouble, feel free to just email your story to ike@rockridgemusic.com and we’ll put it up for you.

Comment by rockchickny

loving it Here’s some pass forward: Thought for the day? : Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups.

Comment by Charmain Cong




Leave a Reply

