telling minor stories to avoid a major one

Linkdown: New music release dates, etc. by Barbecue Bros
July 30, 2007, 1:55 pm
Filed under: album news, music

– Band of Horses will release their second album Cease to Begin on Sub Pop on October 9. The tracklisting was recently revealed on Pitchfork:

01 Is There a Ghost
02 Ode to LRC
03 No One’s Gonna Love You
04 Detlef Schrempf
05 The General Specific
06 Lamb on the Lam (in the city)
07 Islands on the Coast
08 Marry Song
09 Cigarettes, Wedding Bands
10 Window Blues

– Those wacky icelanders Sigur Rós will release both a live DVD Heima (trailer) shot in various locales in Iceland during Summer 2k6 – and retrospective double album Hvarf — Heim – part unreleased tunes, part re-recording of Von and part acoustic versions from all 4 albums – on November 5.

– The Weakerthans new album (!) Reunion Tour will drop on 9/25 on Epitaph, who also released Reconstruction Site. Here is an mp3 and cover art courtesy of Stereogum.

– Travis Morrison, former frontman for The Dismemberment Plan, releases his second solo album All Y’All 8/21 on Barsuk. Never heard his much-maligned first solo album, but the mp3 and cover art on Stereogum makes me want to check out his second, hopefully not-maligned, album…


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I wonder if this Band of Horses album can be more than 14 minutes long.

The Rentals are releasing a 5-track EP on August 14.

Comment by Kenny

Thanks! Cool music!

Comment by garibald

I totally missed that a new song on the Band of Horses album is titled “Detlef Schrempf.” Awesome.

Comment by twoguns

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: