telling minor stories to avoid a major one


Linkdown: Rootsy troubadours edition by Barbecue Bros
July 23, 2007, 3:34 pm
Filed under: music

 

– A Ryan Adams interview from Pitchfork

RA: …There isn’t really anything I can do to change someone’s perception of who I am. But I can be careful to try and nurture my perception of who I am. That would be the way toward being peaceful and happy, or at last caught up. I could be real if I could just know who I am and understand the kind of art form I’m in, the kind of gig that I have, shouldn’t be about controlling what people think. They’re just going to do it anyway. The tunes suffer, I suffer, my friendships suffer, my life suffers when I try to sort of battle the preconceptions. It’s a tough thing. It was always tough. Cause you know, enfant terrible? That isn’t the worst of how I’ve been perceived. I think the general consensus is that I’m just an asshole.

Pitchfork: Everyone’s an asshole sometimes, but there’s no place to hide on stage.

RA: True. But I don’t think I’ve ever gone on stage to be an asshole. I know one thing, from the past, and that’s that my intentions always began in a pure way. I really want to just try and play the songs.

Pitchfork: Well, that’s not exactly true. I once saw you play a show where you hopped off the stage and went to the bar and brought someone on stage in your place to sing along with Minor Threat records.

RA: Yeah.

Pitchfork: I have to say, your songs suffered that night.

– Jeff Tweedy critiques recent bands including Dr. Dog, Battles and Panda Bear (via Stereogum)

– Yes, again: My half year top ten list

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

